Easter In Italy

I spent the Holy Week in Italy, at the Lake Garda. We had rather dreadful weather – cold, windy, rainy and the sky was nearly always covered with clouds… Only on Easter Sunday, the sun was shining – what a lucky coincidence! But in the evening, a storm aproached and it was hailing – I was able to snap some amazing pictures, you’ll see!

I  visited the ruins of the Catullus-Villa (he was a latin poet, 60 BC) in Sirmione, it’s on a peninsula that sticks out into the lake, at it’s southes point. In my latin classes, I translated some of his texts, so I was excited to visit the place where he once lived. But it turned out that the ruins are actually younger than the poet, but his family owned some land there – maybe there used to be a house in which he lived, but he certainly did not own the house that you can see today – it is also way to huge and luxurious for someone like him.

I also went to Verona (but I did not visit Julia’s house – I’ve been there already so many times), Torri del Benaco, Peschiera, ….. The rest of the time I relaxed in the apartement and read, draw, ate ice cream and enjoyed the garden – but only when it was not raining!

Sirmione

DSC04101

DSC04104

The Villa

DSC04133

DSC04147

Verona

DSC04446

DSC04460

Torri del Benaco

DSC04174

DSC04195

 DSC04196

Holidays!

DSC04065

DSC04327

DSC04365

DSC04375

I still have some other really cool sky-pictures, I’ll post them in the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

