Fish Brooch

DSC05414

Over the weekend, I felt the urge to do something – I needed to be creative :) So instead of making something for my dolls, I decided to make something for myself. I did not want to sew anything, but rather embroider and embellish something. And then I stumbled over Michele Caragher’s website and I knew what I wanted to make – a fish brooch inspired by her work. Make sure to check out her galleries, she makes amazing things, pieces of art, actually! I spent quite some time figuring out how she did the fish and I came up with my own method. I’m sure that there are easier and faster ways to achieve what I did, but I thought it might be interesting to share the process with you!

I started with felting a fish shape in different tones of blue and white, to give it more three-dimensionality. Also, I don’t have to stitch so much, as the felt is supposed to shine through.

DSC05378

Next, I embroidered the head and stitched along the side of the fish with regular sewing thread in light yellow, blue and green. I also added details to the head – the eyes and the mouth. Then, I sewed on little gold sequins, which represent the scales.

DSC05393

I continued adding glasss beads in various colours and made tiny loop-stitches to give the fish more texture.

DSC05395

And that’s basically it! I cut the fish out, turned the edges under and sewed a piece of fabric onto the back, to give it a cleaner finish.

DSC05402

What do you think? I am really happy with the result, I hope you like it as well!

Leave a Reply

