The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

1sht_poster

I went to see The Hobbit 2 with my sister on saturday. I just read my review from the first part again (here) and I don’t think I’ll write another one – reading it again made me realise that I made the movie look really …. well, not as good as I thought it was. It is just always easier to complain about the things you don’t like than to praise those you loved. And in this movie, there were only two things that I found a bit weird or uneccessary (for those who have already seen it: the healing scene and the golden statue). But then again, the statue leads to that great scene were you see Smaug… let’s just say, he is also sometimes described like that in the book and I loved this reference (do I make any sence at all? Probably not…). Speaking of Smaug, I loved him. He’s simply amazing. Oh, and again coming back to my first review… Of course he isn’t blue, it just looked like that in the last scene. And Bilbo talking to him, always trying not to make him angry… that was fantastic. I also loved Mirkwood and the Woodland Realm, I wish there had been more of it – maybe in the extended version. I also thought the barrel scene was really fun, Bombur even got an applause by the audience! Concerning the new characters, I think Bard was really good (both played and his overall character), and Tauriel was a nice addition. Apropos Elves, I was never ‘fangirling’ about Legolas, but seeing a familiar face (except Gandalf of course!) in this movie was nice! :) All in all, go and watch this movie, it’s great! I can’t wait for the last and final part – it will be wonderful to return to Middleearth, but sad at the same time, as it will be the last time….. Until then, I will shorten the time by listening to the soundtrack and read The Hobbit Chronicles Book 3, which will come for Christmas!

One thought on “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Leave a Reply

