Navy & White

DSC09317

Another project, that I wanted to complete for a long time now, is finished. It’s a refashioned dress – my grandmother gave me the original garment last summer. She thought I could use the fabric, but I wanted to simply update the dress – much easier! As you can see, in the photo below, it was a bit on the big side, had a strange length and huge shoulders. There was no label sewn in, so I think maybe my grandmother had it made for her? (She could sew, but was never good enough to make her own clothes – according to her, because the things she made for my mother and her siblings look pretty amazing!).

The first thing I did was removing the pleats. Originally, I wanted to shorten them, but then I thought it would be easier to simply cut them off. The dress is a bit short now, but I can wear it with thights or leggings, if I feel uncomfortable. Next, I removed the sleeves and then I took several cms in at the sides. The dress is fully lined, so I did it seperatly on the lining and on the shell fabric. The last thing was finishing the armholes with white bias binding – now that the sleeve-cuffs are gone, I thought the white collar needed some … repetition.

DSC07854

DSC09308

I wore it during the holidays, so please forgive the wrinkles – I did not bring an iron with me! And the bias binding really is straight, the curve in the photo below just happened due to me moving around!

DSC09319

One thought on “Navy & White

Leave a Reply

