Matchy-Matchy

full

My niece’s birthday is tomorrow (she’ll be two years old) and I thought as a gift I’d sew something for her. I ended up making a set – a top and some trousers. Both patterns are self-drafted, but I had a look at some child trousers before making mine. I really do hope that they fit!

The top has little cap sleeves made out of contrasting fabric – it is the same I used as a bias binding on the neckline and on several other places. It closes in the back with a hook and an eye and a snap button. The trousers have an encased elastic at the waist. It was the first time I did that and it worked just fine. There is a knee patch with an embroidered mushroom at the front and a small pocket, again with mushrooms, at the back. To go with this theme I added a hedgehog button together with a flower shaped yo-yo to the top as well.

DSC01215

DSC01219

DSC01228

back pocket

ffolded

Leave a Reply

