50% Bolivia 50% Austria

bolivian poncho

My sister spent the whole September travelling around Peru, Bolivia and Brasil and bought this beautiful fabric for me at a market in La Paz. The lenght is approx. 2,5 meters and I decided to make a poncho (of course!) out of it. As a template, I used the poncho my mother got from my sister – 150cm long, the width is the same as the width of the fabric – lucky coincidence! There is a 80 cm long slit in the middle. I just had to finish one edge and the slit, as one edge was already serged. To add some details, I attached two different trims to each of the short sides of the poncho.

I don’t really know what else to write about this simple project, except that I love this poncho,¬†especially because the fabric is so special to me. I think it’s wool, because it’s so warm, but I’m not completely sure. I still have some left, maybe I’ll make some shorts?… I also have to say that I usually don’t wear something with that many colours, but I love the way they are combined. It’s just perfect!

bolivian poncho side

bolivian poncho detail

Bolivian poncho back

bolivian poncho front

bolivian poncho folded

One thought on “50% Bolivia 50% Austria

Leave a Reply

