From Contacts to Contracts

kooperationsbörse - buttons

Last Friday I went with my class to the ‘Cooperation-fair’ in the Museumsquartier (MQ) in Vienna. This fair was all about wholesalers and craftsmen getting directly to designers, who could place orders, discuss prices or just simply have a look at what’s on the market currently.

I went there with no expectations and unprepared. My big graduation-collection will be made next year, so of course I have no idea now what I will make or what my theme will be. So I didn’t look for anything, I just looked around and was overwhelmed – especially by the amount of different buttons and trimmings that were offered. I know, this was a tiny fair, but still, I was confused and a bit lost, because, as I said, I didn’t look specifically for anything. So I was simply scrolling through fabric swatches and folders, took some cards from some sellers and some pictures.

What I did find was spring steel boning, something I haven’t yet seen in Austria before. Not too expensive, would be perfect for future projects, the only problem: You have to order at least 200 pieces. Well, maybe if more of my class decided to buy as well? I’ll see, but it’s always good to know where to get it when you need it.

Here are just some impressions of the fair, I nearly forgot to take pictures because I couldn’t stop looking! :)

Kooperationsbörse - white lace trims

 

Kooperationsbörse - silk swatches

Kooperationsbörse - hearts

Kooperationsbörse - white lace

Kooperationsbörse

Kooperationsbörse

Leave a Reply

