The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

5-Armies

I saw the movie on Tuesday night. It was a double feature, first the Desolation of Smaug and then, at 23:59 The Battle oft he Five Armies (the only way to see it here in 2D and English – I get a headache from 3D and there’s no way I’m watching it synchronized!). So, what can I say about it? (Prepare for some rambling!)

Actually, I’m lost for words. I lived that movie. I felt so many emotions watching it: joy, excitement, anger, happiness, fear, nervousness, heartbreak… you get it. But it was so intense, I actually don’t remember much of it, like Smaug’s final speech for example. What was he talking about? Don’t ask me. It’s a bit like when you’re at a party or at a special event and you just remember small bits and that it was awesome, but you can’t list all the people you talked to, it’s a blur.

5_Armies

Another thing missing are my feelings towards this movie. It was epic, yes. But otherwise? What was my favourite part? What surprised me? I can’t tell. It’s like I’m in a dream, not being able to articulate exactly what I want to express. A bit like a vacuum – this literally is the end, but I haven’t quite grasped that yet. Sometimes during the movie, I was like “Shit, this really ist he last one, no more after that! It is final!”, but I sat through the end credits and walked out oft he cinema (at 02:30), not realizing that, hey, that was it! The End! I will always be able to return to the story, but there won’t be new places and characters to discover and it will be at home, on the small screen.

So basically the the point of this post is to tell you that I’ve seen the movie and to try to express my feelings about it (and reading what I wrote so far, I think I failed…). As you can see, I still haven’t yet quite ‘recovered’ from this epic, awesome, great, fantastic, amazing movie. I also don’t want to spoil anything. But please, if you are just remotely interested, go and see it. It’s so worth it: Not just one big battle as the title might suggest, but so many smaller, personal struggles and quite a lot of psychology. And I think I shouldn’t even start about the set design and the costumes and the character developement, I could write a whole essay about it – after seeing the movie again (soon, hopefully!)

All that is left for me to say now is namárië.

the-hobbit-the-battle-of-the-five-armies-new-poster-bilbo

If you want to read my reviews of the past to films, click here for An Unexpected Journey and here for The Desolation of Smaug.

Leave a Reply

