sketches

After a year filled with skies and then a picture a day, I wanted a new weekly feature. 365 photos was really fun, but also a challenge and I was too lazy to do the same thing for another year. What could I do? I remembered that Marina from Enchated Doll did something like ‘sketch of the week’ and as I have 3 notebooks filled with sketches (and many loose sheets), I decided to do that as well.

It was not an easy desicion. I don’t want to show off, you know? I’m not posting the pictures because I think I’m a great artist (I’m not), but because this blog is about “things that I do, things that I make and things that inspire me”. And I do draw a lot, mostly from images – I see these notebooks as a collection of inspiration, gathering images that inspire me. And instead of having them in countless folders on my computer or in magazines and books, I want them to be in one place – my sketchbooks. Also, they are always my own intepretation – I don’t try to paint every fold, every shadow or even the same colours. It’s more about the finished picture as a whole… and about the joy of playing with pencils and colour!

So let’s start with the first sketch in my first sketchbook, bought in Venice. This one is for last week!

1

15.07.2010 – I don’t really rememer the intention behind this one

And the latest sketch… five years later!

2

10.01.2015 – Lena Hoschek winter 2014/2015, Femme Totale

Leave a Reply

