Lobau

lobau

The Lobau is a part of the Danube-Auen National Park north of Vienna – and close to my brother’s home. It is a floodplain, with hundreds of small rivers and puddles, open areas and various thickets. In summer, it is wonderful for swimming, as the water gets warm quickly. In winter, it is a bit bleak, all grey and brown with just dashes of green. But as I’ve never been in the Lobau before, I decided to join my sister-in-law and my niece for a walk. There are endless paths, crossing each other, some are real streets, others are just trails, barely visible. If you don’t have a map, you’ll get lost easily – exactly what happened to us! We wanted to go a circle and return to the car, but we ended up turning around and walking back the way we came. Otherwise it would have taken us hours to find the car again… Next time, we’ll bring a map!

I can’t wait for Summer – I was intrigued by the place (I love moors), but I look forward to some more colour!

lobau2

lobau3

lobau4

lobau1

One thought on “Lobau

Leave a Reply

