10 days

racing

A dream of mine is to attend every Formula 1 race of a season. All 21. Traveling the globe and seeing fanatstic (and nerve-wrecking) competitions weekend after weekend, from March to November, sounds wonderful, don’t you agree?

I just really love this sport. It pairs extreme precision and techincal knowledge with speed, control and passion, and hard work always pays off. If you are lucky. I love how unpredictable it is, how some races tend to get boring sometimes, only to become interesting again through a spectacular overtaking manoeuvre or an unexpected pit stop. If a good driver has a bad car, he can’t do anything, but the best machine won’t win the race if the driver can’t handle it. Everything has to fit, it needs perfect circumstances to win a race.

Well, I know this much: I won’t fulfil my dream this year. But maybe someone else will go in my stead, travelling from location to location, attending the races and the afterparties, celebrating with the winners?

Stay tuned for more information…. Can you already guess what I have in mind?

3 thoughts on “10 days

  1. Taswegian1957 says:

    I know just what you mean. There was a time when I so wanted to do that. My husband and I started to follow F1 in the mid 1980s, a fantastic time when there were several strong teams and drivers and you could never be sure who would win a race, on a wet day even a driver in a bad car could get points. We were lucky to have the Australian Grand Prix in Adelaide where we lived and attended all the races bar the first one in 1985. They were great times seeing Senna, Prost, Piquet, Gerhard Berger and my favourite Nigel Mansell,We saw the beginning of the Schumacher era. We still watch although we think the rules now have spoiled F1 somewhat. We liked to watch Mark Weber and now Daniel Ricciardo. Who is your favourite team and driver?

    • elentari95 says:

      Wow, that sounds great! I’d love to go to the Austrian Grand Prix, but the tickets were gone immediately! Maybe next year…
      My favourite is Red Bull Racing (for somewhat patriotic and personal reasons – my mother was in the same class as Helmut Marko’s sister and knew him), my sister was a huge Mark Webber fan, but not so keen on Sebatian Vettel :). We are all supporting Daniel Ricciardo now as well, we’ll see what the new season brings. I’m very excited, I hope someone will be able to break the Mercedes dominance this season a bit!

      • Taswegian1957 says:

        I hope so too. it gets boring when the same driver/team wins every race. The Schumacher era almost put me off watching any more because you usually knew what was going to happen.

Leave a Reply

