Fadenlauf 15

Fadenlauf15

Last friday, I helped at the fashionshow of our schools graduation class. The title was ‘Fadenlauf’, meaning grain line in english. They are taking the same program as I, so it was really a good practice for me – my class will have to organize a fahionshow next year as well.

And the bar is set high! They chose the Gasometer as their location, which was surely expensive, but I think it payed of. Everything looked very professional, the runway, the backdrop… There even were two cameras filming the models as they were walking down the runway and that was shown live on two video screens. And that was also necessary, because the whole hall was filled with people, there were even some on the gallery, looking down. The videos really helped to see details, which wouldn’t have been recognized otherwise. I also love the fact theat the students decided to donate the net profit to the Clean Clothes Campaign – a nice touch, especially at a fahionshow.

While the show was really great, very well executed, I do think that the actual clothes that were shown were a bit… boring. Very similar to each other. Minimalistic, clean, and while they look interesting when looking very closely, that was a bit lost during the show – the bright lightning and the light colours swallowed a lot. Of course, there were some exceptions, some really interesting clothes, one collection even has already won an award. But as a whole… There was a second fashionshow of the parallel class the week before, to which I couldn’t go, but I have been told that there, the collections were much more unique, telling you something about the designer. I’ve seen pictures of it and I think I have to agree.

I don’t mean to criticize anyone. I know that every single student put a lot of thought and hard work into their collection. I’ve heard stories of girls who re-made half of their collection in the past 5 days, in order to make it perfect. The stress level during the whole production must have been so high, just like the expectations the designers set for themselves. And I also know that this (let’s call it lack of diversity) is also due to their teachers – some just have a very strong opinion about fashion and very defined aesthetics and that spreads over to their students. And I’m not making this up, one of my own teachers agreed with us.

But really, this post is about the show, about Fadenlauf. They did very well with everything, even manged to invite some VIP’s like Alfons Haider, Dorretta Carter and Elvira Geyer. Their hard work of the past few weeks was clearly visible and they were successful with pulling off their show. Well done!

I took some behind the scenes pictures – with my phone camera… The runway pictures (my favourite looks) are taken from my school’s website, more are on the Fadenlauf15 facebook page. So if you are interested in seeing more, take a look!
 Fadenlauf15

 

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

fadenlauf

Leave a Reply

