Shanghai, China

china

The starting point for Adriana’s chinese look was jade. It played an important role in chinese history and I love it’s translucence and changing colours. Personally, I think that black matches the light pastel green perfectly and that started it all.

The dress has a simple A-line shape with a chinese inspired neckline and collar. To give it more depth and visual interest, I added different layers of different kinds of black fabric onto a satin base: Chiffon, georgette and netting. Next came the embroideries. Out of polymer clay (Fimo, in the colour ‘Jade’), I made several beads, ornaments and bracelets, which I then sewed onto the dress. Additionally, I used seed beads in two different shades of green, a bought flower ornament and leaf/flower-shaped sequins. I didn’t follow a pattern, I just randomly filled gaps and created shapes,  it was all very organic – that’s how I like it best :).

The embroidery on the back is also partly covered with two long strips of black netting, which remind me of dragonfly wings (another reference). Overall, the dress is very breezy, with the different layers shifting and moving constantly.

china

china

china

china

china

china

china

3 thoughts on “Shanghai, China

      • Taswegian1957 says:

        Well I suppose it was given that Verstappen stopped almost at the finish line so close to the end of the race. Once the safety car comes out it usually takes a lap for them all to form up and then they need a full lap before it can go off again. Maybe if the marshalls hadn’t made such a mess of moving the car they could have done it under waved double yellow flags but I doubt it. Sometimes cars are still trying to overtake even in the last few metres of the race so it would have been dangerous but it’s still disappointing.

Leave a Reply

