unladylike

navy lace

Pictures taken in my Grandmother’s home, wearing her jewellery and a skirt with a lace hem, refashioned from one of her old skirts – it seems like all fell into place for this set of pictures.

There’s not a lot to say about this garment – a simple navy, high-waisted skirt with a pretty lace hem. Two darts in the front, four in the back, a lapped zipper and a facing instead of a waistband. The fabric is a navy cotton, a left-over from my LifeBall dress, the pattern is the self drafted block I made nearly exactly a year ago. What makes it special is the lace I added to the hem. I detached it from one of my Grandmother’s old skirts – she also had a matching shirt with this lace. The garments were too big and I didn’t want to refashion them, so I simply cut off the lace – the colour is a perfect match.

I really like this skirt – it would be too short without the lace, now it’s perfect. An I love the lace, it’s so pretty… Also, navy is one of my favourite colours, it looks great paired with a variety of colours – like white, for instance. I see myslef wearing this skirt again and again, it’s great.

navy lace

navy lace

navy lace

navy lace

navy lace

Leave a Reply

