Budapest Blues

Budapest Blues

I always wanted to try sewing jackets. I just love to layer them over pretty much anything. Lately, I’m especially intrigued by cropped jackets, which end at the waist or maybe a few centimeters below – they are perfect over fit-and-flare dresses. But I was turned off by the tailoring aspect and the different techniques and tools I would need to make a proper jacket. Well, I forgot that there are loose jackets as well, which have a simple construction and no real details. Basics really. It’s all about the fabrics to make them special.

The pattern I used is the 60ies jacket from this book. It is a simple cropped jacket with raglan sleeves and two french darts in the front. I actually made 2,5 jackets from this pattern already (one is still in construction) and I’m planning to make another one, though I’m not quite sure yet. The fun thing about this particular jacket is definitely the fabric. I used two remnants: a left-over from my sundress and a strange dark purple fake fur, which I used for a doll project. Because I didn’t have enough fabric, the sleeves are shorter than the pattern suggests, but I’m ok with that.

I’m really happy with the relaxed fit of this jacket and sewing it was pretty simple and easy. It is even fully lined and I sewed the lining in by hand – I have to find a technique to sew it with the machine because that took quite a bit of time! But otherwise it came together quickly and I can’t wait to show you the other version of this jacket!

Alos, thanks to my sister for taking the pictures and finding this perfect blue door!

Budapest Blues

Budapest Blues

Budapest Blues

Budapest Blues

4 thoughts on “Budapest Blues

Leave a Reply

