INHALE/EXHALE

DSC09339

Sometimes you have to stop and just breathe. You can’t always be creative, productive, constantly push yourself, exeed your limits and go further. You have to stop and and do nothing for while. Stare out of a window. Loose yourself in a book for a couple of hours. Go for a walk. Don’t even explore, just wander – and let your mind wander as well. Let the fresh air clean your brains, the ground lead your feet their way. Don’t overthink it, just do it.

Especially when things are stressful, it’s very important to find the ideal way to relax, calm down and rewind. For me, walking really does help the most. So after last week was over, I drove to the Lobau (Danube National Park, a floodplain) and just wandered around for 3 hours. I had no goal in mind, no route, I just walked and absorbed the fresh air. And let me tell you, that felt so good! It reminded me that I need to do that more often… It’s one of my goals for this year, so I will try to go out into nature as many times as possible. There are a couple of routes I want to try out, mostly the Vienna city-hiking-trails: Most of them lead into the hills around the city and into the viennese woods – many start closely to where I live now, so no excuses!

“You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” – J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

DSC09334

DSC09355

DSC09343

DSC09321

DSC09357

Leave a Reply

