Growing

growing

Someday in May, this blog will celebrate its forth anniversary… Can you believe it? I’m taking this as an opportunity to think about the journey of my blog and a possible future – deep stuff haha, but stay with me, I need your help here!

So, what actually is Lassemista? What does it stand for? To understand this site, which is composed of a strange mix of personal posts, sewing, travel, etc. we have to go back to the beginning of it all. Lassemista started as an outlet for myself – I mostly shared things I made for my beloved (and now neglected) fashion dolls. I taught myself how to sew through them, I drafted patterns, I made mini-collections. And I obviously wanted to share that, I was just so excited! Soon I was confident enough to make my own clothes and the focus of this blog shifted. To what, though? Is it a sewing blog? No. A lifestyle blog? Hmmm, not really, either. It’s more like a creative diary, a very personal blog with random posts about pretty much anything that excites me.

I have a seriously minimal amount of followers – which is probably due to me being the worst at commenting, networking and marketing: I’m always the ‘silent’ reader, who follows tons of blogs but hardly ever interacts. The other reason is (I guess) the blog itself, or rather, the content. I think I have some really good content up there, as well as some questionable posts (I don’t believe in deleting older posts only because I find them strange/unnecessary now). But if you are a new reader, who just happens to stumble upon my site, what would you think about it? Why would you want to follow Lassemista?

I honestly don’t know the answer. I don’t want to focus more on a specific topic, I just think that there is so much potential in a variety of topics (after all, my subtitles are ‘variety is everything’) and I wouldn’t want to leave some out just for the sake of making my blog content more streamlined. I will probably stop writing very personal posts though, and rather generate content with more ‘value’. Create a certain ‘brand’, a recognizable style and most importantly, quality content. I want random visitors to stick around longer, scroll through the archive and find interesting and inspiring posts.

I just really want to grow the blog seriously this year. Get more followers, more interaction – and interact more myself. I’ve been dreaming about collaborations, guest posts, etc. but so far, they are out of my reach. I’m just too small to count, you know? So here you come into play, my dear readers – do me a favour and just click the ‘follow me’ button on the right. I’m also on bloglovin, pinterest, instagram, the whole lot (links in the sidebar as well). Or if you already are subscribing, spread the word! I would appreciate it very much. Now off to new and exciting shores and another year!

6 thoughts on “Growing

  1. Taswegian1957 says:

    Nearly four years of doing a blog is pretty good, it shows you can stick with it. I’m up for three years at around the same time and I guess that we now have a better idea of what we want our blogs to be. For myself my blogs are purely a hobby to share my love of dolls, photography and other interests but you sound as if you see your blog as becoming a tool you will use as a part of your career which is a good idea. It would probably be a good thing to separate the more personal posts from the ones about your work either by creating a separate blog or a seperate page so that those who want to read about fashion can go quickly to the posts that interest them. Whatever you decide to do good luck with it.

    • elentari95 says:

      Thank you for your words! I just feel that I put a lot of energy into it (well, sometimes more and sometimes less) and it would be nice to get some back, though I’m not yet sure how or in which form. But I totally agree with you on the personal – seperating these two would be a good choice! Many thanks,
      Liliana

  2. Jane Eldridge says:

    Oh I can so relate! I rarely comment either and I too have only a few followers. But what I post feels natural and comfortable to me, even though it is a bit of everything……and I think that’s the only way I can proceed because a blog is personal. It changes just as I change. Yours is the same and I love that about your blog ie it is authentically you!

    • elentari95 says:

      You’re so right! After all, I’m doing this because I want to and not because I have to – Keeping it natural and authentic is the most important thing, otherwise it would feel like a burden (and I would probably stop)!

Leave a Reply

