The Social Sew: Sundressing

sundressing

First day of summer, time for a sundress! How convenient that this month’s Social Sew theme is Sundressing….

socialsew

This is a monthly “challenge” created by Allie – the idea is to sew something to a certain theme and provide inspiration for others. And if you know me, you’ll know that I’m all about inspiration and getting new ideas. Making a sundress was a logical choice for me, as I love making and wearing them, but actually don’t have that many.

This is the Seda dress by Pauline Alice, a pretty off-the-shoulder dress, with little sleeves, a fitted bodice and full skirt. I made it out of a super fine white twill (cotton) and because I didn’t have enough fabric (left over from my graduation collection), the skirt is a simple gathered rectangle. I made a size 38, but because I gained a bit of weight (ugh), it is very tight (for now). The proportions are perfect, though, the darts are on the right place, and the sleeves are amazing! They have elastic sewn into the seam allowance, which ensures a close fit. Also, the bodice of the dress is lined, so the insides are pretty as well.

All in all, a very good pattern, I already have two more planned, with different sleeve versions. Can’t wait to get started on these!

sundressing

sundressing

sundressing

sundressing

8 thoughts on “The Social Sew: Sundressing

  1. laurajane says:

    Oh I love this dress! I’ve bought the pattern, and just keep looking at it, wondering if it will stay up! It looks fantastic, but is it comfortable? I’ve got a purple linen in mind…

    • elentari95 says:

      Thank you! It does stay up but tends to be restrictive – lifting the arms higher than shoulder level is a bit difficult. But I would definitely recommend making it anyway, I think it just looks beautiful!

      • laurajane says:

        Thanks for the insight! You may have saved me lots of aggravation! I don’t think I would like the restrictiveness. Maybe I’ll make the other version, but with the short sleeve.

Leave a Reply

