Short Shorts

shorts

I’ve always dreamed of high-waisted shorts, but never found them. Then I learned how to sew and dreamed of making my own. But I read everywhere that getting the fit right on trousers is super difficult, so I never purchased a pattern and continued dreaming. And then I learned how to draft patterns myself, trousers included. I have a well-fitting block now and I thought it was high time to finally fulfil my dream!

The shorts are simple – pockets in the front (darts rotated into them), two darts in the back, waistband closes with two snaps, and there is an invisible zipper in the centre back. The fabric is a left-over form a school project. It has a very interesting texture, it seems to be loosely woven in a solid grey and then there are thicker strands of marled, light grey woven in crosswise. I’ve never seen anything like it before and sadly I only had enough to make these shorts. I also had to get creative with the placement of the pattern pieces and decided to cut the pocket facings in the opposite direction – which is a nice detail.

shorts

shorts

And I also have a tip for you: please, always, always prewash your fabric! I didn’t do it this time, because I was in a rush (“Need to finish them before I leave for France tomorrow”) and now, after washing them, they are very short – they used to be a bit longer and slightly more decent. Luckily they only shrank in their length and not in their width! They do fit into this month’s Social Sew theme quite nicely now….

socialsew

It is ‘Hot Hot Heat’ and I think these shorts are perfect in both senses of the word ‘hot’. They are perfect for hot summer days and I even overheard two guys taking about them the other day. Ha! :)
Also, big thanks again to my sister for taking the photos – we always have a lot of fun goofing around…

shorts

Oh, and please, please can I keep this tan forever? :)

shorts

Shorts & Top: me-made, see here
Shoes: Converse

Merken

5 thoughts on “Short Shorts

Leave a Reply

