LBD Nr.1

LBD 1

A simple dress for summer, something loose, airy, easy to wear and easy to sew… A dress like this has been on my list for quite a while. The fact that this particular one is black fills another hole in my wardrobe – I did not have a simple dress in a solid, dark colour, even though I was definitely in the need of one. And now I actually have two! The second one will be coming up next…

I drafted the pattern myself, but the basic shape is an a-line dress, with no waist definition – I still have to get used to that! I do love a nipped waist… To make up for that, I made it short and the v-neckline quite deep. It’s sleeveless, but the shoulders are so wide that it looks as if the dress had little cap-sleeves. I used store bought red bias binding to finish the armholes and neckline – I had nothing else at home and was to lazy to make it myself. The binding is quite stiff, so it pronounces the shape of the ‘sleeves’ and you can see flashes of red – originally unwanted but now much appreciated!

The fabric is a black rayon, but I’m sure it’s some kind of blend – it doesn’t really get wet, the water drips off and it dries extremely quickly. It has quite a lot of weight, but still drapes nicely. I got a whole bolt at a studio sale once, for only 10€ – can you believe it? So I obviously still have lots, enough for quite a few other projects! One will find it’s way onto the blog very soon…

LBD 1

LBD 1

LBD 1

LBD 1

Dress: handmade
Kimono: H&M
Espadrilles: Melo Verde

Leave a Reply

