Bluebell

bluebell

The weather got  really cold over the weekend, so I remember the day when we took these pictures even more fondly. It was extremely hot, but windy (so it felt not too stifling) and the sun was shining from a bright blue sky. Perfect postcard weather. Maybe not the perfect conditions for taking these kind of pictures (I should have put on sunglasses! Sorry about my expression :)), but the oppportunity was to good to miss it.

But I guess you’re here to hear about this dress? I really wanted an easy dress, which doesn’t cling to the body in any place – something breezy, nothing too complicated. And I’ve seen similar kinds of sleeves everywhere lately and wanted to make myself a dress with a similar detail. I did not hem the ruffles and they are fraying a bit, but that was part of the plan. I tore the fabric into the desired width though, so the fraying is minimal and even.

The fabric for the dress is a soft cotton I purchased from Fabric House last spring in a very pretty lilac-blue colour – one of my favourites. Looks very nice against the light grey of the stones and the bright azure blue of the sea! The pattern is again self-drafted, I’ve used this one quite often already now. It’s the loose bodice block and I added sleeves and a small scoop neck.

Originally, I did not intend to make the fold at the hem, but when I put it on, having already attached the ruffle with a french seam, it was too long and looked horrible. So I simply folded the excess fabric and secured it with a straight line of stitches. I love this little extra detail!

This dress has also another detail I’m not so happy about. I used french seams everywhere, also when inserting the sleeves. And of course, I sewed one in wrong – the seam is on the outside! I had already cut back the seam allowances and would have ruined the hole armohle if I unpicked it. So I just sewed the other sleeve in the same way and decided the seam is a ‘design feature’. Only question – did I now actually mix up right and left sleeve? Or are they on the right place and I sewed the sleeves wrong sides together? I can’t tell now, the fabric looks equal on both sides. And the sleeves look right, so I probably made the mistake earlier in the construction. Well, I guess this won’t happen again, I’ll double-check every time now!

bluebell

bluebell

bluebell

bluebell

blubell

bluebell

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Leave a Reply

