Trieste

Trieste

This is the last summer-holidays-travel-post.. Makes me kind of sad! I’m already fully immersed in schoolstuff and the holiday feeling is almost gone – I’m already looking forward to the end of October, when I’ll have a few free days.

But back to some sunny weather, salty air and sea-views! As I wrote in my post about Venice, we decided pretty spontaneously to spend some days in Italy and soak up the sun one last time. We chose Triest, where we’ve already been a couple of times. It’s at the very edge of Italy, right at the Slovenian border. In the 19th century, it belonged to Austria – and it definitely has a different vibe than most italian cities. The atmosphere is different, it sometimes reminds me of Vienna – a more southern version of the city maybe.

We spent most of the days exploring the streets, going into cafés and museums and doing a bit of shopping. We simply enjoyed the warmth, the holidays, the sea. There was a regatta with seemingly hundreds of little kids in optimists once and the next day, there where wind-surfers everywhere. It was certainly windy enough for both! Also, let me tell you about the food! One of my favourite topics, ha :). The best ice cream was at a shabby looking place right at the harbour, Il Pinguino, the best cafe in the Via S. Nicolò (I think it was the Caffè Walter 1907) and the best dinner in an amazing raw restaurant called Draw in the Via Torino. Definitely recommend the last one, it was so, so good and surprisingly inexpensive. Typical italian food reimagined. Try it if you are in Trieste!

I spent some really good days there and enjoyed the calm before the storm :). Overall I would say that this time, the holidays (the whole summer) were all about the sea. I often wonder, do I prefer the mountains or the sea? I would normally answer mountains (or preferably both), but this year the sea definitely won. I guess next year will be about the mountains :)

Trieste

Trieste

Trieste

Trieste

dsc01126

Merken

Merken

Leave a Reply

