Try Something New

Astoria

I definitely prefer to sew with woven fabrics than with knits. I just find it easier and I love to give a garment shape through darts and pleats instead of it just stretching over the body. But I do like to wear knits – nothing is more comfortable. I have made a couple of knit garments before, but I had no idea about proper finishing techniques, etc. Knits were slightly scary to me, my machine didn’t like them much (always ate the lightweight jerseys) and so I just stayed away from them.

I’m using the past tense here, because I recently made something out of a deliciously thick jersey – the Seamwork Astoria cropped jumper. I started to subscribe to Seamwork in september and have already downloaded a couple of patterns so far. Mostly summery dresses apparently!

But back to the Astoria. While I like how it turned out, it’s clear there are some fit issues going on. The biggest is the waist – I definitely need to size down there next time. I made a size M, but S would be much better. Also, the shoulders need a slight forward adjustment. Generally, the fabric stretched quite a bit while sewing and even though I steamed it afterwards, I think it hasn’t recovereed completely. The neckline is a bit wide, as well as the shoulders – I think I need to spend some more time with the serger and try various settings (we have a different one this year – I made it on the one in class, I don’t have one at home).

So it is quite a bit boxier than I had intended, but still wearable and I don’t want to take it off any time soon because it’s so cozy! The fabric is a thick double knit, a viscose-polyester-elasthan-mix, in a wonderful light blue/grey colour, slightly mottled. Very soft and warm, perfect for our current weather.

dsc02047

dsc02055

I also really like it with the sleeves rolled up. There is a version for shorter sleeves already included, so maybe I’ll try those next time – oh yes, there certainly will be a next time, once I’ve nailed the fit I don’t see what could stop me from making loads more: The Astoria is fast and easy to sew, chic, versatile, and goes perfect with all my high waisted skirts and trousers, as well as on top of fit-and-flare dresses.

It is a great pattern to start sewing with knits and so it was the perfect contestant for this month’s Social Sew Challenge – try something new. Also, I’ve never sewn a Seamwork pattern before, so this was a new experience as well.

socialsew

When was the last time you tried something new?

Astoria

Astoria

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 thoughts on “Try Something New

  1. kalimak says:

    That’s a lovely version of Astoria, Liliana! It’s a very flattering fit when paired with a pencil skirt. Speaking of which: I love the fabrics you’ve paired in this outfit, especially the skirt.

    PS: I, too, prefer to sew with wovens šŸ˜Š

  2. allie J. says:

    I also just subscribed to seamwork and have this pattern! I’m happy to see how yours turned out. I really like the boxy look, even if it’s not what is on the pattern!

Leave a Reply

