Maribor

Maribor

Maribor is just an hour south of Graz, in Slovenia, so I decided to spent a day there last week, when I was visiting my grandmother. I didn’t know anything about this town, so I just set out to explore and see what I would discover.

Maribor a charming little town, and very small. I really liked how the buildings are arranged  – there are very steep alleys down to the river, the difference is a couple of meters. The three bridges are on the upper level, about three storeys high (see below). There isn’t really much to do except for walking through the town – it felt a bit like time had stopped, everything was small and sweet, with few stores/restaurants/people. – at least in the old center of the city. One tip for you: The shores of the Drava are a perfect place to rest, read, enjoy the sun and watch the countless swans, which are trying to get the attention (and food) of the strollers.

I would say just a few hours are enough to get a feeling of Maribor, a whole day is already a lot of time! I thought it was a cute town, but there isn’t much to see or do. Also, visiting it once is probably enough, but feel free to disagree!

Maribor

Maribor

Maribor

Merken

Merken

Merken

Leave a Reply

