Moss Embroidery

moss embroidery

I have some sneak peeks from my costume for you today! I have time until Christmas break to finish it and even though there is still so much to do, I’m starting to see the end of it – I actually think it will be finished earlier. But so much time went into it already…. I spent three days dyeing and bleaching fabrics for the skirt alone! But the end is in sight, I ‘just’ need to assemble the corset – after I’ve finished embroidering the outer layer.

The inspiration behind the embroidery is moss and lichen growing on trees and rocks and I tried my best to get similar structures and textures. I used up to seven colours of embroidery floss, ranging from green and blue to brown and a burnt orange. I also incooperated three different kinds of glass beads, two matte, one shiny. The base fabric is a silk dupioni which I dyed into a blue-green – it also got this crashed look in the process, which is a perfect backdrop for the moss embroidery.

This isn’t really a tutorial, just a couple of progress pictures. Also, there really is no right or wrong way to do this, I just go with the flow and do whatever feels right. I’m basically making up the design as I go along and there is no way I could recreate it to 100% ever again. It’s random and organic and that’s why I love it so much. Also, please ignore that the colour of the fabric changes – the light went from bad to worse during the process and my camera needs to be replaced. The most accurate colour is probably in the second picture, in case you’re wondering.

phase 1

phase 2

phase 3

phase 4

phase 5

phase 6

There is still a lot of work to do, but I think it will look great in the end… Let’s hope it’s going to be worth all the cramps in fingers and shoulders!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 thoughts on “Moss Embroidery

Leave a Reply

