Chequered

img_1479

I could also call this post ‘The many challenges of photographing your finished projects during the winter’, but that would be a bit long. Thruth is, I have a hard time taking decent pictures of my finished garments (or anything really) during the winter.

The light is probably the biggest challenge – it fades so quickly! If there is any light at all… Also, it’s obviously quite cold outside and if you want to photograph something else than coats and jackets, you risk getting a really bad cold. So you might want to stay inside taking the pictures, but this isn’t so easy either: Again, the light proves to be challenging . It’s either too dark or you get funny shadows from the window bars everywhere – which happened in my case. But hey, the checks mimic the fabric for the skirt, so maybe it isn’t even so bad…

The skirt is a typical winter skirt for me: High-waisted, mini and made of wool (a mystery wool-poly blend actually). I used my basic skirt block for it and added a 2cm waistband. The construction is very simple, there are just the darts and side seams to sew.
The top is also made by me, it’s Deer&Doe’s Plantain t-shirt. It’s a free pattern and again, comes together in an hour.This is the first version (I made two more) and I made in a size 38. I did cut a size 36 at the hips though, because the flare was a bit too much for me. Otherwise, no alterations to the pattern and I’m very happy with it. I also love the shape of the neckline! I used a viscose-polyester, lightweight jersey for it – very silky and incredibly smooth. And it was on sale (Komolka), so it was definitely a bargain.

A simple outfit (I would normally add tights) with two wardrobe staples. I can see myself wearing these pieces a lot this winter!

img_1518

img_1501

img_1487

7 thoughts on “Chequered

  1. kalimak says:

    Great outfit :-) I have two vintage wool skirts but I haven’t had luck finding good wool fabric yet.

    I sympathize with the difficulties of taking photos in the winter. I’ve had very, very little luck myself, as you know. But these photos, in spite of the harsh light “checks,” turned out very interesting.

  2. Draped in Cloudlets says:

    Your photos are so lovely, don’t worry about the lightning, I think it totally adds to the atmosphere. I do know the challenge of taking pictures in the winter though :-) Happy new year to you!

Leave a Reply

