New Staple

img_1930

I’ve dreamed about a stack of Liberty print shirts for a long time. I slowly built a stash of Liberty Tana Lawns, but was still on the hunt for the perfect shirt pattern. Enter the Grainline Studios Archer Button Up Shirt. It ticks all the boxes: It has a loose fit, classic shirt details and an overall masculine vibe, which is something I’m always looking for in shirts – I don’t like tight fitting blouses, I prefer something more loose and casual. What can I say – so far I’ve made three and I have plans for at least four more. I’m also preparing a tutorial for a hack and I want to make a couple without sleeves for summer. Personally, I think it’s the ultimate shirt pattern.

Do you recognize the fabric of the shorts? It’s the same I showed you in the last post, the one I used for the yoyo skirt. The pattern is an old favourite as well – my trusty trousers block, which I just cut off at the desired length. I think that with winter shorts, you can always go a little shorter, because you are wearing them with tights anyway!

Also, this is my entry for the Social Sew! This month’s theme is ‘New Year, New Wardrobe‘ – this shirt will definitely play a huge part in my wardrobe this year, as I finally found the perfect pattern (made in a straight size 8, if you want to know). I’ve wanted to own such shirts for a long time and I feel as if this year might be the year of the Archers. Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating bit… Also, in case you’re wondering, this is not a sponsored post, haha! I’m just genuinly happy that I found a pattern that is perfect for me.

It was seriously one of the coldest days and I could not bring myself to take the coat off (it does match the background), so I decided to include a couple of close-ups of the shirt and the shorts. All the seams of both garments are sergerd (using the industrial serger we have in school) and I added a bit of decorative topstitching to the hem of the shorts, but that’s almost invisible. I originally wanted to do french seams on the shirt, but then decided that it was too time-consuming – maybe next time, when I don’t want to bring half-assembled shirts to school just to finish the seams!

img_1927

dsc02648

dsc02659

dsc02662

img_1932

Leave a Reply

