Summer Skirt

hanging1

How is it June already? Last time I blogged it was aÁpril (I even had to check)…. Sooo, what have I been up to? Not much, especially lately. I originally stopped blogging in April because I just did not have the time: I made some costumes for a theater production (and assisted the costume designer as well) and often sewed well into the night. It was super time consuming, but I’ll tell you more about it in another post.

And then… I don’t really know what happened. I was quite burned out and tired and spent a couple of days at my grandmother’s in Graz (I never went home to Salzburg during easter – too busy). And then final exams came (the theoretical part is still outstanding) and my laptop decided to give up for a while…. Basically I just enjoyed a creative break, recharged a bit, worked on new ideas and made up some plans for the future.

That was just a little heads up, now let’s continue as usual. I’m mainly here today to talk about this skirt. And the fabric! It’s Cotton+Steel , from the Picnic collection, designed by Melody Miller. It’s called ‘enamel flowers’ (in navy) and it’s a quilting weight cotton, which means it’s not ideal for apparel sewing. But you can make it work if you consider a few things first.

Most important is obviously the cut of the garment. You won’t be happy if you use quilting cotton for a pattern that calls for fluid fabrics. It tends to be quite stiff (even after washing), so it’s good for anything structured, tailored and fitted. Just make sure your garment won’t end up too tight, as it does not stretch at all. Therefore, it works equally well when used for anything casual with lots of ease (but nothing drapey!). You can also use it for pyjamas and, as I did here, full skirts (either gathered, pleated or circle skirts).
Quilting cotton won’t shift when you’re cutting, it’s easy to sew and presses well. It’s perfect if you’re a beginner and want a fabric that isn’t a nightmare to work with. Also, it comes in a huge variety of prints and colours and you can find it in literally any fabric store. So if you find the right pattern, it’s a pretty cool fabric to use and won’t cause much frustration!

So these are my tips! Did I forget something? Would you use it for the garment-types I recommended above? I’m curious to know!

hanginga1

hangingb

Leave a Reply

